Day 2….

I have been in what some would call a rut…but, I call laziness. I couldn’t seem to peal myself from my covers at approximately 4:30 in the morning. Gee I wonder why that is so hard! Hmmmmm. Anyways, I have a half marathon this week and I need to get my butt moving at least. I know that I will not be able to improve any before the run but at least I can trick my mind into thinking I can! Oh the mind games, blah.

Anyways, I ran about 5 miles yesterday and was VERY comfortable surprisingly. Laced up my Nike’s, but on my hoodie, grabbed my ear warm (aka as Dan’s ear warmers that I get to test out before I buy one), and strapped on my watch and turned on my iPod and out the door I went. I really had no goal on my run but to just run. So, I just thought of a route and stuck with it. I was pretty ambitious when I picked the route considering there was a hill that could nearly kill me! Just kidding, but only kind of…

At about mile 2.5 there was a hill that lasted roughly ¾ of mile to a mile, mind you it was not a small hill.  But I managed to get my butt up the hill and when I made it to the top I was pretty excited and had a pretty intense adrenaline rush! Then I knew I was back in the game. I think it was partially that and the fact that I witnessed a close friend qualify for the Boston Marathon at CIM this weekend. He qualified with a race time of 3:04:31. WOW. I was so emotional when he crossed the line I was holding back tears….and just trying not to lose him in the crowed. I was fixed on him. One day I will be able to do that to…maybe not run a marathon in a little over 3 hours, but some day I will qualify for Boston…assuming they don’t keep lowering the qualifying time!

Well, next Monday I start my training for my first marathon. Trainer has already had me track my diet for the past week. I am a little scared to show him actually. It is amazing what you learn from your diet in just one week.

  1. I don’t eat enough protein
  2. I don’t eat enough period.

So, now I have to start eating protein powder in my oatmeal and do all these weird things I never thought I would have to do….but, if I am going to do this, I am going to do this BIG.

P.S. Buy one of these!…..they are AMAZING

http://tptherapy.com/shop/smrt-core-products/the-grid.html 

 

About Courtney

A girl on a mission to save the world one baked good and run at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

